When a young woman faces unimaginable heartache, she vows to make a difference A moving saga of anguish, hope and never ceasing fortitude, The Empty Cradle is a spell binding and unforgettable tale from bestselling author of No Ones Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Dilly CourtGoodwin uses her deft touch, natural warmth and superb storytelling skills in a spellbinding story of love, loss and redemption Lancashire Evening PostTo the outside world, Charlotte is the privileged daughter of the local vicar Behind closed doors, however, she is the prisoner of her controlling father As she grows up, Charlotte longs for freedom, but her captivating innocence leads her into trouble Sent to Ireland to hide a shameful pregnancy, she discovers that once again her father has deceived her She is forced into a convents harsh and humiliating regime, where she must eventually give up the one thing that makes her life worthwhile When Charlotte returns to England, older than her years, she chooses to forget the past Becoming a London midwife, she longs only to help other women at this hardest and most joyful moment in their lives But her deep compassion, and desire to prevent anyone else suffering the same horror she did, leads her into a darker anddangerous placeWhatreaders are saying about The Empty Cradle I have never felt it quite so necessary to write my thoughts about a book I cannot wait to readandof Rosie Goodwins books From the very first page to the very last it holds you page by page My goodness what an amazing lady this author is I loved every chapter, every pagethis one has to be the best Rosie Goodwin by far Certainly not a book that you can guess the ending, and kept me captivated all through Fantastic story and written superbly